Jacking Up Cryx Part 1: Objective & Options

So I have failed many times to own a Hordes army.  While I love the idea of an army comprised mainly of beasts, something about the Hordes offerings just never stuck with me.  I have owned (and subsequently sold) Circle Orboros, Legion, and Skorne.  My Warmachine armies though, haven’t failed me.  I play Cryx, Protectorate, and Mercs.  Still, I have a hungering for an army of mostly metal monstrosities.  While I can satisfy this at times, I have decided I really want to attempt refocusing my army construction on going jack-heavy, and I have decided I want to attempt this with Cryx.  Yeah, Protectorate may be the obvious choice, but Mortenebra has taught me the joys of a horde of Cryxian jacks.

So, in this first installment, I wanted to list all of the models that somehow can contribute to this goal.  What I am looking for is focus or psuedo-focus.  For example, Warwitch sirens directly contribute focus to warjacks, whereas a skarlock thrall, while useful in putting more of a warcasters focus into warjacks, cannot directly add focus or efficiency to warjacks.  That doesn’t mean a skarlock isn’t a good inclusion, just that it is of a different nature.  So, here is my list:

  • Warwitch Siren (directly contribues focus via power booster)
  • Iron Lich Overseer (contributes focus equivalency via Jack Marshall and Soul Matrix)
  • Aiakos, Scourge of the Meredius (as a Novice Warcasters, brings four focus directly to the table)
  • Scavenger (Finishes approximates boosting)
  • Desecrator (Accumulates focus near bane models)
  • Harrower (Soul Collector makes souls act just focus)
  • Seether (charges/runs for free, and gets one free focus, just for being awesome)
  • Deathjack (Skulls of Hate and souls = lots of focus)
  • Malice (also uses souls like focus, and starts with one for free)
  • Kraken (corpose tokens can be traded in for focus)

And while any warcaster is an obvious source of power for warjacks, some just stand above the rest in Cryx:

  • Mortenebra (THE jack casters.  Terminal Velocity equals boatloads of focus equivalency)
  • Skarre, Queen of the Broken Coast (Seas of Fate, while not directly focus, sure helps with efficiency)
  • Witch Coven of Garlghast (9 focus, Infernal Machine, and the ability to cycle like crazy)

So these are the models that will comprise the core of my jack-heavy lists.  Some of these things have never struck me as good models (Overseers, Desecrators…) but perhaps they will find a place in this kind of initiative.  In the 2nd part of this series, I will focus on figuring out which models are worth inclusion and which are not, and start building some lists.

Let me know if you have any good thoughts on models I should/shouldn’t focus on!

Thanks!

5 responses to “Jacking Up Cryx Part 1: Objective & Options

  1. This is funny because I’ve been very interested in doing the same for Cygnar. Cygnar has more access to jack marshalls so it might be a little easier. Trying to get as many jacks on the table as possible at the same time probably isn’t super competitive but will make for fun games.

  2. You don’t need to do that. You should totally run nothing but ghost pirates lead by….um I cannot think of a caster that’s bad. But in all seriousness I think seethers and sirens are a great day to go. Your tembra list makes wanna find some really big guns to bear on it. Fun times

  3. I remember hearing how someone brought the new witch coven tier that uses the marshals to a big con and did reasonably well…. might be worth looking into. I always wondered why some of the more focus efficient cryx jacks see so little play. Did you put the withershadow on your list? Can’t they make a jack if they finish one off?

  4. Pingback: Jacking Up Cryx Part 2: Machine Minds | Sustained Attack

Leave a Reply

