Initial Lock & Load Decompression Thoughts

Although smash has already discussed his initial thoughts after Lock & Load, I thought I would put some of my experiences and thoughts up as well.

  1. The seminars were amazing.  While I didn’t attend as many modeling and painting seminars as others in our party did (only one this year for me), I did get to most of the “fluffy” seminars.  And they were worth it.  The presenters were funny, having fun with the presentations, and generally just in for a good time.  As I said last year, I strongly recommend people go to those seminars if they enjoy the fluff at all.  And like last year, I will be doing write-ups of the different seminars I went to.
  2. I played in my first serious national event this year – the Masters.  I went 2-2, and was pretty happy with my results.  I will have a writeup of that as well, along with my three lists.  It was a fun (if exhausting) day, and although I was somewhat disappointed with some things that occurred (more on that in the writeup), it was a blast.
  3. Like smash, I am now a Press Ganger, so I decided to go to the invitational that is the day prior to Lock & Load proper.  Unlike smash, I had a complete blast at it (as did my wife), and we are definitely planning on doing it again next year.  It was fun meeting the different Press Gangers and volunteers face to face, and talking with the PP staffers (even if I didn’t get to play them) was enjoyable too.
  4. The announcements were enjoyable too – as always, getting to see things there live was just plain awesome.  It didn’t hurt that my wife and I were in the front row for the announcements.
  5. And, of course, Iron Arena was terrific fun as well.  Got to play a lot of games with my new army, and met lots of cool people.
  6. Convergence is also very cool, and I am planning on doing a writeup of my thoughts of them after playing them for the last few weeks.  Expect that soon as well.

All in all, a fun time was had.  No one got sick or injured in our crew, and it was just a solid, well done convention.  I will have more on it over the next few weeks, but here is an initial taste.  Hope to see you all there next year.

Leave a Reply

