On Colossals and Gargantuans

It has been pretty quiet here lately, but I wanted to throw up a few thoughts about Colossals and Gargantuans now that our local meta is starting to see more and more of these huge monstrosities.  Personally, I have so far faced quite a few stormwalls, a pair of Conquests and Krakens each, and the mountain king.  There are several Hyperions in our shop, as well as a Woldwrath or two.  After fighting, and watching, these beasties in action, here is what I think:

  1. Thankfully, Colossals and Gargantuans didn’t ‘break’ the game, as many feared.  While I fully expected them to be balanced, given a pretty good track record from Privateer Press on that subject, many people thought this was the end of Warmachine & Hordes.  I am glad those naysayers were proven wrong again.
  2. Colossals and Gargantuans are very different creations.  Whereas Colossals are very obviously mobile gun platforms, Gargantuans are almost universally not.  Sure, they have some ranged firepower, but they don’t hold a candle to Colossals in that department.
  3. Colossals have been pretty impressive, but Gargantuans have fallen a bit flat.  While I think the models are all terrific and very fun to play, Gargantuans just don’t fit in Hordes’ lists the same way Colossals fit for Warmachine.  I think the best summary of this was written on the forums by sourclams.  It is a good read, and essentially claims that by any metric, two beasts are preferable to one Gargantuan.
  4. The Stormwall is clearly the best huge base to be released yet, and I think that is fair.  Given that Cygnar rarely ranks among the top flight competitors at serious tournaments, the faction needed a distinct bump.  I feel like Stormwall has been that bump, and I don’t mind.
  5. Although, I do wish every Colossal and Gargantuan had a specific ability as interesting as the Stormpods.  The other Colossals all have far less interesting uses of their S systems, and those pods really gives Stormwall the kind of versatility that the others are slightly lacking.  Apparently PiP used up all their creativity on the Cygnar model.  :P
  6. I am going to be really interested to see how Lylyth3 sells.  Given that she is likely to run around the average Colossals price of $135, I would think many players take a pass as they would be unable to justify that much money for a model that cannot appear in every list.  Maybe that is just me.
5 responses to “On Colossals and Gargantuans

  1. I widely agree, but there’s one thing I’m not at all sure about – yet: In my opinion it’ll take at least 6, probably 12 more months to be able to fully judge the impact of the gargossals. They are definitely played more often now but it’ll take so much more time to get a full picture. I love all of them so far and I’m pretty sure that PP did an amazing job. Change is great and they did it very, very good so far.

  2. It has just seems to me that Colossals are game/meta changers(not in a bad way) while the Gargantuans are more like play-every-once-in-a-while curiousities. It will indeed be interesting to get everyone’s opinion in a year or so and see where we are at with the rest of the Gargantuans book release.

  3. I don’t think Lylth3 will be that much, shes on a BE, not a Garg, so 80-95$? Your point is still valid though, thats an expensive caster. Granted every faction already has a least one 40$ caster.

    • One good thing though – she is FA:C, so you only ever have to buy one. Vs. the BEs and Gargossals, where you may have to buy 2 (or more, if you like higher-point games) for some list ideas. That said – I am interested to see her price point.

Leave a Reply

