MMBR: A Repulsive Report

Cryx vs Cygnar

Points: 50

Scenario: Encroachment (3 evenly spaced flags on the center line, one goes away at the end of turn one)

My thoughts: Running a Terminus list I’m a bit worried if the middle flag is taken away, otherwise I’m good!

Cryx List played by meatkat (70 models!):

  • Lich Lord Terminus
  • * 2x Helldiver
  • 10 Bane Knights
  • 10 Bane Thralls
  • 10 Bane Thralls
  • 10 Mechanithralls
  • 10 Mechanithralls
  • 6 Mechanithralls
  • Necrosurgeon & Stitch Thralls
  • Necrosurgeon & Stitch Thralls
  • Withershadow Combine
My thoughts: w00t 70 models. After my last disaster with Terminus I decided to go with a couple Helldiver body guards for Terminus to keep away the heavies. I don’t think that’s going to be so much a problem this game, but these two should be able to stay out of lightning safe underground and pop up to hold an objective for me.

Cygnar List played by Squelch:

  • Major Victoria Haley
  • *Stormstrider
  • *Stormstrider
  • *Thunderhead
  • *Thorn
  • Stormtower
  • Field Mechaniks
  • Gun mages
  • Black 13th

My thoughts: Once again lots of shooty but I haven’t really had too much of a problem with Stormstriders in the past. Game time!

Pics of the battle

Click for high(er) res non-GIF pics

I deploy with the Bane Knights (who are now assembled!) positioned on my right flank (picture left) to go through the rough terrain and everything else grouped around Terminus. Pretty standard. Across the table I see the two Stormstriders taking up the center with Thunderhead on his right flank and Thorn on the left.

From turn one I start taking heavy losses, I lose a helldiver and the middle flag is phased out leaving me stuck with too many units outside the tough bubble! Turns out the Stormstriders can do a little more damage than I imagined. In fact a lot more especially when they start the game with tokens. As you can see from above I’m suffering heavy losses the entire game from those two. Things on my left flank (picture right) don’t go much better. You can watch Thunderhead and the Black 13th march up the board sucking up my units like a vacuum. On my left flank the Knights were chewed up by the gun mages and Thorn.

My opponent played Haley to her full potential, waiting until I was just about to get off my massive infantry charge before feating essentially rendering my third turn useless.

The last picture up there you can count out my units, there are only 20 of the 70 left! That’s an average of 17 models removed a turn. When you factor in my stitch thralls and tough that’s closer to about 25+ models killed a turn! Needless to say I was on the ropes. As I finished up my (crippled) third turn I could see he would be scoring two points no matter what I could do next turn and my only hope was to somehow get Terminus over the Stormstriders and pull an assassination on Haley.

Heading into my fourth turn I was down 2 control points to 0, death or glory, charge in Terminus! Flight took my opponent by surprise as Terminus lofts himself over a Stormstrider and berserks into the unit of Mechaniks, collecting a few souls. Unfortunately I’m about .25″ inches out of engaging Haley, who is sitting on no focus. Luckily I’m positioned right next to a Stormstrider with Repulsor Field. Oh happy day! A whack on the Stormstrider pushes me into melee range with Haley and thanks to Malediction I was able to one hit Haley with the exact damage roll I needed (11 on 3 dice).

My thoughts: Talk about snatching defeat from the jaws of victory! I got pretty lucky on that one. Flight saves the day, I think people understand the part about flying over other models, but they don’t remember the ability to ignore other models when declaring charge targets. Squelch played a damn good game.

Lessons learned:

  1. Flight pwns!
  2. There is such a thing as a shooty list that can tear through Terminus’ hoard.
  3. eHaley’s feat is terrific!
One response to “MMBR: A Repulsive Report

  1. Yeah, flight is great. However most opponents can usually deal with this by forcing you to take some free strikes to deliver the payload. However, Terminus’ armor, along with his feat and ability to camp focus, often renders even this defense ineffective.

Leave a Reply

